Fabulous Flapjacks

I have never been a big pancake fan.  So many calories for so little pleasure.  But that was my thinking before sourdough became such an integral part of my cooking.  And sourdough flapjacks are a whole new taste experience.  I found this recipe in a newspaper article on sourdough starters using pineapple juice.  After inadvertently forgetting to save part of my fed sourdough, I needed to start another one.  I am not going to post on that one for a while…….it was ridiculously involved.  But, oh my, the pancake recipe is sublime.

I like to let my starter come to room temperature overnight.  I often feed it a bit of water and flour to refresh it’s yeasty properties.   To prepare your flapjacks in the morning, you would take the starter out of the refrigerator and feed, if desired,  the evening before.  This is optional, however.  You can use the starter from the refrigerator.

In the morning add I cup of flour (I use my white whole wheat pastry) and 1/2 cup milk to 1 cup starter.  Let sit for 30 minutes…….while you make the coffee and prepare the rest of the ingredients.

Melt 2 tablespoons of butter.  Whisk together:

2 large eggsI know this shows three eggs but I was doubling the recipe–there were actually four eggs at this point :).

3 tablespoons maple syrup

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

Add melted butter and whisk until smooth.

Do you love this???  I get so excited to see natural “yeast” at work……sourdough is just magical to me.

Heat your griddle until the butter sizzles on it.  This is important with pancakes.  They need to hit the skillet sizzling so to speak.

I happened to have some blueberries from a friend.  If you have them on hand,  just place them artistically on the pancake as it bakes.

Flip when the edges are dry and crispy.  Cook another minute.

Then if you are really adventuresome, serve with homemade peanut butter ice cream (promise to post on that soon).

Fabulous blueberry flapjacks with peanut butter ice cream……..a breakfast to remember.

~A

2 Comments

Filed under Breads and such, Breakfast, Eating well

2 responses to “Fabulous Flapjacks

  1. Pingback: Weekly Menu – What is going on in my kitchen « Graceful Table

  2. Pingback: Peanut Butter Ice Cream « Graceful Table

Leave a comment