Whole Wheat Cheddar Sourdough Crackers

I hope you will bear with me for another sourdough recipe. S. gave me the link to this recipe and, of course, I have tweaked it a bit. We love crackers around our house and they are a special treat due to their high cost. I made this recipe and one of my cracker-loving sons ate the whole batch in one sitting! Definitely a hit. And, a lot of fun to make. Simple ingredients, simple method, great results. What more can a baker ask??

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Stir together:

1 cup sourdough starter (refreshed or not….your choice)
1/4 cup coconut oil (although you could use any good quality oil, I expect)
1 cup whole wheat white pastry flour (or flour of choice–S. has used spelt flour with good success)

Let sit overnight…….this is optional but improves flavor.

In the morning/before baking…add

1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Mix together. At this point, I added grated extra sharp raw milk cheddar cheese S. had bought for us while she was here visiting….wonderful, intense flavor. I used a lot in this photographed batch–maybe 1 ounce. I imagine I will be trying all sorts of additives in the future–chives, onion bits, bacon, cheeses………just make sure whatever you decide to flavor the crackers with is in tiny pieces. I used a fine grater for the cheese.

Here’s where I tweaked, also.  Pull out the bakers best friend, parchment.  Lay a nice size piece on the counter (to fit your baking stone!) and using a rolling pin–mine is a homemade version, a sawed off closet rod :)–sprinkle the parchment with flour and roll as thin as possible. Due to the amount of cheese I put in this batch, it didn’t roll quite as thin as previous batches.

When you are happy with your rolling, cut with a pizza cutter, sprinkle with coarse salt ( I omitted brushing with oil from the original recipe due to the added cheese), using tines of a fork, poke some holes and into the oven it goes on the stone.

I use my cookie sheet without sides as a paddle to transfer to the oven. Slips in and out easily on the parchment.

Bake 15-20 until golden brown.

Cool on a rack……crispy, tasty crackers for a mere fraction of what they cost in the supermarket.

What could be better than cheese on a cheese cracker?

~A

5 Comments

Filed under Breads and such, Eating well, Lunch

5 responses to “Whole Wheat Cheddar Sourdough Crackers

  1. Jennifer

    This looks good, can it be done with lowcarb flour? I miss crackers. I’ve been toasting low carb flat bread as a substitute.

  2. Pingback: Weekday Lunch – Chicken Miso Soup « Graceful Table

  3. Pingback: Move over Kraft (or kellogg, or nestle…) « Graceful Table

  4. Pingback: Introducing… George (& this week’s menu) « Graceful Table

  5. Pingback: Cheese Crackers–Better than the Box | Graceful Table

Leave a Reply

