Weekly Menu – What is going on in my kitchen

I have always been a bit of a rule breaker when it comes to lists, outlines, and written commitment in general. In my 4 years at school (as an English major), I never once put together an outline before I wrote a paper. I would write the paper and do the outline after the fact, if one was required for the class. I can’t say I recommend this method, but it worked for me. Writing outlines always seemed like too much of a commitment – what if my topic changed midpoint through the paper – all that wasted time writing an outline that was now useless! (Time that could have been spent watching Buffy the Vampire Slayer and 90210 reruns – ah, to be without responsibilities again.)

So what does this have to do with food and cooking? I decided, since one item I really enjoy reading on food blogs is weekly menu plans, inclusive with recipes & plans to execute– I have never been committed enough to write down a menu plan–I am going to give it a shot and post them sporadically!

Sunday prep: Thaw scallops, drain yogurt, make orange curd

Monday:

Breakfast: Mock Omelet – Eggs, Bacon, Cheese, Spinach

Lunch: Tuna Salad w/Bubbies Relish, celery & romaine lettuce

Dinner: Scallops with balsamic reduction, sauteed green beans

Prep: Thaw chicken thighs and pork chops

Tuesday:

Breakfast: Eggs with cortido, onions, bell peppers

Lunch: Chicken Miso soup (chicken thighs, green beans & tomatoes from the freezer, onions, peppers, kale, miso, homemade stock)

Dinner: Grilled pork chops, salad w/romaine lettuce, smoked paprika dressing, homemade croutons

Wednesday:

Breakfast: Dream Cream & Orange Curd

Lunch: Leftovers

Dinner: Salad w/canned salmon, homemade ranch

Prep: Thaw beef

Thursday:

Breakfast: Eggs w/homemade bacon bits

Lunch: Wraps (Sardine Salad)

Dinner: Beef & mushrooms, mashed potatoes w/spinach

Prep: Thaw shrimp

Friday:

Breakfast: Sourdough Blueberry Pancakes

Lunch: Wraps

Dinner: Grilled shrimp, sweet potato fries w/garlic aioli

Prep: Thaw steaks

Saturday:

Breakfast: TBD

Lunch: Salmon cakes w/lemon caper butter

Dinner: Steak & grilled veggies

Now lets see if I can stick to it! Recipes to come for a few items.

~S

5 Comments

Filed under Eating well, Menus

5 responses to “Weekly Menu – What is going on in my kitchen

  1. Rachel

    Sarah….I would love to cook like this. Sounds like a yummy menu! I like the weekly menu idea. I will have to start making one soon. Hope all the food turns out great 😀

  2. Cheri Scribner

    Wow, this is incredible! How do you make your orange curd? I have made lemon curd several times, but this last time it was grainy and the egg white began to cook. 😦 Got any tips for me? Thank you!

  3. gracefultable

    Rach – I’m sure if I had 2 small boys to chase around, my ‘menu’ would look very different! Let me know how the menu planning goes for you – this is a new venture for me as well 🙂

    Cheri – I added the link to the orange curd recipe I am using – its the same as lemon curd but you use less sweetner because of the orange juice (the recipe I use uses honey instead of sugar as well). As far as the egg whites, mine do that too sometimes 😦 – be careful not to have the heat too high and you can always strain the mixture through a fine sieve to get ride of the lumps. Also – you can use just egg yolks and avoid the issue altogether!

    Thanks for the comments!
    ~S

  4. Pingback: Weekday Lunch – Chicken Miso Soup « Graceful Table

  5. Pingback: Crab Cakes – Grain free, Gluten Free & Delicious! « Graceful Table

Leave a Reply

