French Pot Roast

I took this roast out of the freezer to thaw in my refrigerator and then life happened and I didn’t get to cook it for a couple of days.  Needing to “get with it’, I scoured my Cook’s Illustrated to find an inspiring recipe.  “Modernizing French-Style Pot Roast” seemed a perfect fit for my first grass-fed roast as the accompanying article said that the method was designed for French grass-fed beef!  As usual, I had to take liberties with the recipe, not having all the ingredients but what a success–absolutely marvelous in taste and texture.

French Pot Roast

3-5 pound pot roast

2 teaspoons kosher salt

Sprinkle meat with salt and leave on wire rack, in a sheet pan to catch drippings, at room temperature for one hour.

Reduce a 750 ml bottle of red wine to half by simmering on the stove, about 15 minutes.

After the rest at room temperature:

Melt 2 tablespoons bacon fat in dutch oven.  Add a couple slices of precooked bacon, if you have it.

Sear all sides of the roast.  Remove roast; add five chopped scallions (green onions),  3 pressed garlic cloves and 1 tablespoon unbleached flour. Stir 30 seconds.

Pour reduced wine and 2 cups beef broth into dutch oven and bring to simmer.  Return roast to pot.  Cover with foil and bake at 300 degrees for 2 1/2 to 3 hours.  (About one hour before serving, remove foil, place four peeled, chopped carrots into pot and replace foil.)

Serve–comfort food at it’s best!

This is a “dumbed down” version of the CI recipe; next time I will be more prepared and “do it right”.  Maybe :).  It was so wonderful this way,  I might not, too!

~A

This post is part of Tempt My Tummy Tuesday

Leave a comment

Filed under Eating well, Main Dish

Leave a comment