Better Almond Butter Cookies

Although we had no trouble consuming the Almond Butter cookies, I wanted to improve them.  They were a bit heavy and crumbled in your hand……..here’s what I did for batch #2 ….a big improvement in texture and taste.  I also simplified the recipe by making it all in my food processor–what could be easier?

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line a baking sheet with parchment.

In a food processor–

Whirl I cup old fashioned oatmeal until finely ground.

Add I cup dark brown sugar, 2 teaspoons baking powder, sprinkle of kosher salt and process briefly.

Put 1/2 cube (1/4 cup) unsalted butter and 1/2 cup almond butter into processor and mix thoroughly.

Add 1 egg…process until a soft mass.

Make into 12 balls and roll in unsweetened finely grated coconut (instead of sugar).  Smash with a fork.

If you want the chocolate as before–bake 9 minutes.  Remove.  Make an impression; drop on a few chocolate chips; bake 3 more minutes.  Spread the chocolate while warm.

I found them so improved, I wouldn’t even bother with the chocolate next time.  The texture was chewy; the taste much more mellow.  Think almond macaroon :)…..still wheat free.

We would love to hear how you play with our recipes, too!

~A

2 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Eating well, Gluten Free, Snacks, Tea time

2 responses to “Better Almond Butter Cookies

  1. Rachel

    These were fabulous! Can’t wait to try them with chocolate. They taste a lot like a macaroon 🙂 YUM!

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan – Quick, Easy, Tasty (I hope) « Graceful Table

Leave a comment