Grass Fed Beef~Carnita-Style

Another carnita recipe?  I know, I do seem to get fixated on certain types of food recipes (you remember my whole biscotti obsession?).  I found this recipe in a beautiful new cookbook from our library, Perfect One-Dish Dinners and thought it would be a great recipe to try my first chuck roast from my recent grass fed beef order……..yes, we bought more grass fed beef–a half of beef this time.

Grass Fed Beef~Carnita-Style
3-4 pound chuck roast; let sit at room temperature about 30 minutes.

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.

Place roast in large bowl.  Smear meat with 1 tablespoon oil; sprinkle with 1 tablespoon ground cumin and a generous amount of sea salt and coarse ground pepper.

 


Mix together:

1 small can chopped green chiles (4-5 oz)

1 1/2  tablespoons chili powder

1 teaspoon oregano

1 teaspoon ground cumin

Heat a heavy dutch oven until almost smoking.  Add meat and sear until a lovely crust forms on both sides.  Watch it but only turn once.  About 4 minutes a side.

Remove meat to plate and add 4 minced garlic cloves to pan.  Cook and stir 30 seconds.  Add chili mixture and cook another 30 seconds, stirring all the while.  Pour in 2 cups chicken broth.

Bring to a simmer and add roast and any juices that have collected on the plate.

When all is simmering nicely, mash some foil down on the meat.

Now seal your dutch oven with another large piece of foil for a “lid”.

Place in preheated oven on the middle rack and bake for 2 hours.


You will be rewarded with this:Fabulous.  Tender, perfect meat for your Mexican-style meal.

~A

 

3 Comments

Filed under Eating well, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Main Dish

3 responses to “Grass Fed Beef~Carnita-Style

  1. I think the admin of this web site is in fact working hard in
    support of his website, as here every data is quality
    based information.

  2. Hi I am so thrilled I found your weblog, I really
    found you by error, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Anyhow I am here
    now and would just like to say cheers for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time
    to browse it all at the minute but I have saved it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up
    the great work.

    • gracefultable

      Thanks so much for your kinds words. We hope to start posting again. We’ve been on a long hiatus to relocate in more garden friendly region so look for some fresh posts from the garden in the future!

Leave a Reply

