Salmon Cakes

One of the more difficult things about cooking is adding a new recipe to your repertoire.   If you have read my bio, you know that my repetitive cooking is a characteristic that needs challenging on a regular basis.  S. is my inspiration and this recipe is one she has encouraged me to try numerous times.  Finally, I did.  I am sorry it took me so long.  Don’t let that happen to you!  It is so EASY and GOOD for you.  Try it soon.  You won’t be disappointed.

Salmon Cakes

Beat two eggs in a large bowl.

Slice and chop into small pieces,  one small onion.  Add to egg.

Mince two garlic cloves into egg mixture.

Drain two cans of Wild Salmon (Trader Joe’s brand is great!).  Remove bones/skin, if desired.  Bones provide calcium–you won’t notice them. Mash and fold in.

Add in juice and zest of one lemon.

Stir in remaining ingredients:

3 tablespoons coconut flour

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon black pepper

1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika

2 tablespoons chopped parsley, if you have it 🙂

Let mixture set for about 15 minutes to let the coconut flour absorb the liquid.  (Next time I make these I might use Panko crumbs on the outside for a more breaded treatment.)

Shape into patties.

Heat coconut oil in heavy skillet until sizzling.

Brown patties, turning them over with care.

Serve.  They are wonderful as leftovers, too.

~A

This post is linked to Tempt My Tummy Tuesday.

5 Comments

Filed under Gluten Free, Grain Free, Lunch, Main Dish

5 responses to “Salmon Cakes

  1. These sound so delicious! I am a huge fan of salmon and will try these out. Pacific Northwest Best Fish Co makes a crab cake sandwich that is to die for, and I have a feeling I will use one of your bread recipes and now this one to make our own family’s version. You’re the best! 🙂

  2. Jennifer

    These look FAB!! Sent the link to hubby to try for us.

  3. Pingback: Salmon Cakes II | Graceful Table

  4. sandee

    My daughter is allergic to eggs-can you recommend a substitution for this recipe? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

