Better Breakfast Cookies

Not everyone would consider chocolate chips a good addition to “breakfast cookies” but I am not in that camp.  Especially the Ghirardelli 60% Cacao Bittersweet Chocolate chips, the only ‘chip’ in the market for me.  In fact, I have given up using any other kind of chocolate for eating or baking.  But, I digress.  This is not a sales pitch for chocolate chip varieties but another installment in the search for the perfect breakfast cookie.  This is a better breakfast cookie recipe but I am not calling it ‘perfect’ yet.

Better Breakfast Cookies

Grind one cup whole almonds in your food processor.

Add and process with ground almonds, one cup old fashioned oats.

Sprinkle in 1/2 cup raw sugar.

Into the processor goes:

1/4 cup unsalted butter

1/2 cup almond flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon kosher salt

Whirl together until thoroughly mixed.

Now add one whole egg.

Process briefly.

Using a spatula, mix  in 1/2 cup chocolate chips, if desired.

Shape into about 1 inch balls.

Put 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut in a plastic container and fill with several cookie balls.

Put on the lid and shake.

Place the coconut-ty balls on parchment and flatten with your fingers.

Admire your handiwork.

Bake at 350 degrees for 13-15 minutes.  Remove cookies when puffed and slightly browned.

Cool on rack.  Serve.  Makes approximately 14 cookies.

Bon Appetit!

~A

8 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Gluten Free, Snacks, Tea time

8 responses to “Better Breakfast Cookies

  1. Rachel

    Yum!! I will be going to the store to get stuff for these. Thanks for the post! 😀 ❤

  2. gracefultable

    YAY! The boys loved my breakfast cookies when they were here.
    ~A

  3. Oh my goodness – these look fantastic!! And just what I’m looking for to help my husband with his new diet plan 🙂 Also Alisa….was wondering where you’d recommend me getting a good food processor? I don’t have one 😦
    Thanks!

  4. gracefultable

    Hi Cheri
    Costco is pretty hard to beat for quality appliances. My children (bless their hearts) bought me my Cuisinart many years ago and it has served me very well. The interesting thing about these cookies is you can’t just keep eating them like you can cookies with flour. One or two are satisfying so I consider them the best “diet” cookies you could eat!!
    Thank you for being such a faithful follower of Graceful Table!
    ~A

  5. Perfect! Thank you so much. I will definitely check Costco.

  6. I agree with you about the Ghiradelli 60% cocoa chips. There is nothing better! I’ll be trying these breakfast cookies very soon 🙂

  7. I made these today. YUM! I added some flax seeds to mine also. Thanks for the great recipe. I think i’ll make up some more and freeze them 🙂

Leave a Reply

