Easter Pastry

I am not usually tempted by processed pastry offerings but there is a cream cheese coffee cake that has called to me a time or two.  I was intrigued with this recipe in a recent magazine advertisement.  A real recipe!  No boxes!  No processed ingredients!  Real yeast!  I did substitute blueberries for the raspberries since that was what I had on hand but, otherwise, I, uncharacteristically, followed the recipe :).

One Dish Raspberry (Blueberry) Cheesecake

Spray a 9 or 10 inch pie plate with non-stick vegetable spray.

Mix together in a bowl or directly into pie plate:

1 1/2 cup all purpose flour

2 envelopes rapid rise yeast (or 5 teaspoons if you have it in bulk)

1/4 cup sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 cup melted butter

2/3 cup warm (120-130 degrees)  milk

1 egg

Berry Sauce

Combine in a saucepan:

1 1/2 cup frozen unsweetened raspberries or blueberries

1/2 cup sugar

1 tablespoon cornstarch mixed with 2 tablespoon cold water

Stir and bring to a boil; boil 1-2 minutes until thickened.

Cheesecake filling


Beat until smooth:

1 8 oz package cream cheese

1 egg

1 tablespoon cornstarch

1/4 teaspoon almond extract (I used vanilla)

Spread the cheesecake mixture onto the batter.

Pour on berry sauce.

Swirl with a table knife.

Place in a cold oven.  Set temperature at 350 degrees and bake for 30 to 35 minutes.

Of course now that I have made the recipe I am thinking of all the ways I can change it :).  Watch next Easter for a more healthful version.

Happy Spring!

~A

4 Comments

Filed under Breads and such, Breakfast

4 responses to “Easter Pastry

  1. This looks divine! I am a huge carbaholic and am trying desperately to curb my sweet tooth. I need to try this first! 🙂 Thanks so much for the great idea.

  2. JoAnne Weiss

    Looks so delicious….it looks like something I might be able to try and make. Happy “Belated” Anniversay!!!

    • gracefultable

      Hi JoAnne
      Thank you for the wishes. Here’s early wishes to you and Ken. The years pass so quickly. I am sure you would have great success with this recipe.
      ~A

Leave a Reply

