Thai Shrimp & Asparagus Curry

My husband and I love Thai food. Back when we lived in CA – there was a restaurant about 3 miles from our house called Spice of Thai that had some of the best Thai food either of us had ever eaten (dangerous for the waistline!).

It’s a little more difficult to find good Thai food on this coast, so I have been experimenting with making my own. This dish is one of my successes! And the best part – its made with all healthy fats and whole foods!

Thai Shrimp & Asparagus Curry

  • 1 lb shrimp – peeled and deveined (I left the tails on, but I would take them off next time – it’s easier to do when the shrimp is raw)
  • 2 heaping tsp Red Curry paste (I use Thai Kitchen brand – you could make your own but premade is less expensive and has quality ingredients)
  • 2 TB water
  • 1-2 TB coconut oil
  • 3 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
  • 1 inch fresh garlic, finely grated
  • 1 lb asparagus – tough ends snapped and cut into 1 inch sections
  • 1 can full fat coconut milk
  • 1/4-1 tsp red pepper flakes (depending on spice preference – I used 1/2 tsp)
  • 1/2 fresh lime

Mix curry paste and water together to form a thin paste – toss with shrimp.

Heat coconut oil in med-large pan (I used non-stick, an enameled dutch oven or possibly cast iron would work as well. Maybe stainless steel, I’ve never cooked with it). Add shrimp, garlic and ginger and cook for 3-4 minutes until shrimp is just opaque.

Add asparagus – cover and cook for 3 minutes. Add coconut milk  and red pepper flakes- cover and cook for an additional 5 minutes until the coconut milk is bubbly and slightly reduced.

Remove from heat – squeeze lime juice over dish and serve with brown rice or alone for a lower carb/grain free option. I served it with brown rice that had been soaked overnight in water/whey and cooked with duck fat and chicken stock. Delicious!

I apologize for the lack of pictures – we ate it too fast to snap any!

This post is part of Real Food Wednesday

~S

5 Comments

Filed under Gluten Free, Grain Free, Main Dish

5 responses to “Thai Shrimp & Asparagus Curry

  1. YUM! Will have to try this once asparagus is in season.

  2. Pingback: Menu Plan – Freezer/pantry cleanout « Graceful Table

  3. Teresa

    Asoaragus just happens to be on sale this week. Looks like a fun recipe. Any particular size shrimp?

  4. gracefultable

    Teresa- I used jumbo shrimp (local to SC – we have lots of options for shrimp out here!) – but I think any size would work, except for very small or bay shrimp.

    ~S

  5. Teresa

    Thanks Sarah – I figured it wouldn’t matter too much, so I’ll just see what will be easiest to work with. Thanks so much for all your recipes. They do inspire me. I’ll let you know when I try make them and tell you how they turn out for me.

Leave a Reply

