Weekday Lunch – Chicken Miso Soup

I promised I would share a few recipes from my first attempt at meal planning – so I decided to jot down my lunch from yesterday, which is one of my favorite weekday lunches – soup! I have been on a miso soup kick lately – Add a few tablespoons of miso at the end of a vegetable soup and it completely changes the taste and feel of the soup and (in my opinion) makes it even more delicious!

A note about miso – I personally am using chickpea miso, rather then traditional soybean miso. Since I am on the east coast, I have east access to Miso Masters which is organic and soy-free. You can buy it online but I don’t know what shipping would be like to the rest of the country. There is a company that makes soy free miso on the west coast as well, South River Miso. Shipping would be completely outrageous for me to try the South River brand but if anyone has tried it, let me know what you think! I’ve heard good things about it. I am not against soybean miso as long as it is organic (since it is fermented and a traditional use of soy, unlike most of the soy products we eat) but I figure that I get enough soy in my diet without even trying, why not get soy free miso when it is accessible and relatively inexpensive? Oh, and its really really good!

On to the recipe – I didn’t measure anything and I never do when I make soup – just kind of put together what I have on hand and hope it turns out. All amounts are rough estimates and feel free to modify!

In a large soup pot, stock pot, or dutch oven (I use my 6 qt lodge enameled dutch oven)

Combine:

  • 1 large onion ( or more if you want more onions) – chopped
  • 3 carrots – peeled and diced
  • 3 stalks celery (ends removed and saved in the freezer for stock!) – diced
  • Fresh ginger – I used my zester and did about 1 tsp – more or less depending on your preference
  • 1-2 TB fat of your choice (I used my home rendered lard from the pig I bought back in the summer – good source of vitamin D for a cold January day)

Cook for about 5 minutes.

  • Add – diced chicken thighs (I used 4 for this batch). I prefer thighs to breasts for soup because they have more flavor and retain their moisture.

Cook until chicken is cooked through – but not overdone.

  • Add – 4 cups stock of your choice – homemade is preferred. I used homemade shellfish stock that I made a few weeks ago with my stash of shrimp shells. It is definitely fishy but very good!

Cover and let cook – my stock was frozen so I cooked it for about 20 minutes covered to thaw the stock and heat the soup.

While this is cooking – soak a few tablespoons of wakame in cold water to rehydrate, per the package directions. This is what is traditionally used in miso soup and it is my favorite way to eat seaweed (OK its really the only way I eat seaweed right now at home – sometimes I’ll sprinkle a few kelp flakes in soup and call it good).

When the soup is hot –

  • Add in 1 bunch of kale, sliced. Kale is in season right now – I bought this as my local year round farmers market. Also add the drained seaweed.

Let the kale cook to desired tenderness.

  • At this point, you turn off the heat and add the miso. I used 3 tablespoons for this batch of soup. cover and let sit for a few minutes. I use  a whisk throughout the soup a few times to make sure I go all the chunks of miso (very unappetizing).

and… Serve! Thats it. I enjoyed 2 bowls of this for lunch yesterday – very satisfying on a cold day and lots of nutrients from the seasonal vegetables, fermented miso, homemade stock & seaweed.

You could serve this with a crusty French bread or homemade crackers – but I make it a 1 course meal.

 

(I apologize for the lack of pictures – my photographer was not around while this was being prepared).

~S

This post is part of  Real Food Wednesday

3 Comments

Filed under Eating well, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Lunch

3 responses to “Weekday Lunch – Chicken Miso Soup

  1. I’ve never used miso, but the soup looks good. And I always love new recipes with kale, since I get that in my CSA basket a lot.

  2. *I* just started making miso soup =). Mmm-mmm good.

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan – Freezer/pantry cleanout « Graceful Table

Leave a Reply

