Winter Treat – Kettle Korn

Living in a temperate climate, I was fortunate enough to have my fall CSA extend to mid December – fresh vine ripened tomatoes for Christmas, anyone?

One item I received almost every week from my CSA was popping corn, pictured above. Now, up until a few months ago, I though popping corn grew in a plastic bag on the store shelves, with the beans and other shelf stable staples (ok, maybe not really, but you know what I mean). I had never received popping corn on the cob and I was a little intimidated to prepare it! That is why it is now January and I still have 9 more cobs to prepare.

Once I took the plunge and prepared it, I realized it was actually very simple and not something to be intimidated by at all. My favorite way to eat popcorn is Kettle Korn – back when I still ate snack type foods I would buy the microwave kettle korn from jiffy pop. This recipe is much tastier and is organic (if you you use organic ingredients like I did), chemical free and actually healthy (from the coconut oil!). The hardest part is getting the corn off the cob (takes patience and aim :))

Sweet & Salty Kettle Korn (adapted from Rachel Ray)

1/4 cup extra virgin unrefined coconut oil (you could use any type of oil, but why? Coconut oil is delicious and one of the healthiest fats you can eat!)

1/2 cup popping corn (fresh from the cob if you can get it. Organic and local is best to avoid GMOs and all that good stuff)

1/4 sugar. I used organic white sugar. haven’t tried anything fancy

1 tsp coarsely ground sea salt

Melt coconut oil in large sauce pan with tight fitting lid. Add popping corn.

When kernels start to sizzle, sprinkle sugar on top.

Cover with lid and shake until corn starts to pop. Continue shaking until popping stops (2-3 minutes).

 Remove from heat and toss in salt. Serve hot.

That’s it! It’s a great snack for winter nights in front of the fire. I enjoyed a bowl of it tonight.

It’s good to be back & posting! Except more posts from this coast soon!

~S

1 Comment

Filed under CSA, Eating well

One response to “Winter Treat – Kettle Korn

  1. John Trepen

    Good posting! I will have to try that one soon!

Leave a Reply

