Easiest Whole Chicken EVER!

Are you busy??? How could I even ask such a silly question two days before Christmas?  S. introduced me to this recipe–using the crock pot to make “rotisserie” chicken.  It amazes me that I haven’t heard of this before.  With every supermarket/big box–think Costco–offering prepared whole chickens, you would think a do-it-yourself cook like me would have tried this method long ago.  I am making up for lost time.  I made two whole chickens in four days.  And, WOW, this is going to be a weekly cooking event for me from now on.  How easy is it, you ask? It only took four pictures :).

Here’s the method:

Clean out chicken of any giblets, neck, etc.  Cut away extra fat.

Rub in spice mixture–this is where I am going to experiment.  All sorts of possibilities lay ahead!!

  • 4 teaspoons salt
  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper (less or leave out if you don’t like “heat”)
  • 1 teaspoon onion flakes or powder
  • 1 teaspoon thyme
  • 1 teaspoon black pepper

Refrigerate overnight……..although if you have forgotten to do this the night before, I’m sure it would be good without this step.

Place a peeled and thick sliced onion in bottom of crock pot.  Notice that the chicken *just fits” on top of the onion.

That’s it–nothing else needed.  Cover and cook on low for 4-8 hours……..depends on your crock pot.  The chicken is soft, succulent, fall-off-the bone wonderful when done!

Here’s the bonus–save the broth that collects in the pot for soup…..some of the best broth I have ever had!

There you have it–an easy recipe for busy times.

~A

6 Comments

Filed under Eating well, Gluten Free, Grain Free, Main Dish

6 responses to “Easiest Whole Chicken EVER!

  1. John Trepen

    So I attempted this recipe the other day with Mike pushing me to do it! I was kind of hesitant because I have never bought a whole chicken before and had to remove the insides! Overall it turned out pretty good. I think I would try a different type of seasoning approach next time though…

  2. Pingback: Italian Sausage Kale Potato Soup « Graceful Table

  3. Pingback: Menu Plan – Greens & Things « Graceful Table

  4. Pingback: Menu Plan – Quick, Easy, Tasty (I hope) « Graceful Table

  5. Teresa

    I finally did chicken in the crock pot. I didn’t do a whole chicken. Pulled parts out of the freezer, but filled the pot with 4 hind quarters and 4 chicken breat halves. Almost 2 whole chickens. It worked great and will become a regular (2x month) Sunday meal. Lots of chicken for sandwiches during the week; etc. Thanks friend for posting such wonderful things.

Leave a Reply

