Bread for Everyone

No, this is NOT another sourdough post!  I know you were wondering if I would ever post a bread anyone could do.  Easily.  No sourdough, no long risings, no special equipment.  Well, I have to fudge a bit on that one.  You do need some of my favorite baking tools:  parchment, a baking stone (I have seen inexpensive ones at Big Lots for around $10….I happen to have a lovely one S. bought me that I LOVE that I am sure cost much more but I use it almost every day!), and a large container with a lid.  All set?  Do you have these things around?  Could you procure them without much fuss?  I hope so because you can make this bread recipe.

If you have peeked at our poor neglected “currently reading”, you will see only one listing for me:  Artisan Bread in Five Minutes a Day: The Discovery that Revolutionizes Home Baking.  As a veteran home baker, I found his ideas fascinating.  The recipe I am going to share in this post uses white all purpose flour (yes, I do have some on hand at all times) that adds wheat bran for a heartier loaf.  That part appealed to me since I seldom make all white bread.

Gather your ingredients:

5 3/4 cup white all purpose flour

3/4 cup wheat bran

1 1/2 Tablespoon KOSHER salt

1 1/2 Tablespoon instant dry yeast

3 cups lukewarm water

Put the dry ingredients in your mixing bowl (you can do this by hand if you don’t have a heavy duty mixer).

Add the lukewarm water all at once.

Mix thoroughly with your dough hook.

Notice the nice bran flakes in the dough.

That’s it!  Dump it into your container.

Cover and let sit in a warm room for about 2 hours until it has doubled.

Your dough can be refrigerated until you are ready to prepare your first loaf!  It makes about three one pound loaves.

It will rise and collapse in the refrigerater and develop in flavor while waiting for the DAY you want a smallish loaf of fresh artisan bread for dinner.

Take out your container and grab about a pounds worth–I used my scale this time but you can guess if you don’t have one.

Round with your floured hands into a nice ball.  Spray with PAM.

Rise until doubled on parchment about 1 hour.  Heat your oven with the stone on the middle rack to 450 degrees.

Slash the top before sliding it into the oven.

Bake 30 minutes until nicely browned.

Cool on rack.  All the artisan bread recipes say to let cool before you cut it but it’s perfectly acceptable to just break off a piece when it’s cool enough to touch and EAT it.  It’s your bread and sometimes you just need to enjoy life and not worry about whether it ruins the crumb.

~A

5 Comments

Filed under Breads and such, Eating well

5 responses to “Bread for Everyone

  1. Cheri Scribner

    I’m a bread maker myself, and only have experience with a couple of recipes. I am definitely trying this one, and can hardly wait! Thank you!

  2. Pingback: Weekday Lunch – Chicken Miso Soup « Graceful Table

  3. Pingback: Move over Kraft (or kellogg, or nestle…) « Graceful Table

  4. Pingback: Homemade Pita for Everyone « Graceful Table

  5. Pingback: 10 Grain Wonder Bread « Graceful Table

Leave a Reply

