Summer to Fall

How did September fall into November so quickly?  My photographer first traveled, then worked extra jobs, then spent weeks fighting the flu and finally, yesterday, was available to follow me around photographing my marathon cooking day.  I have lots to share with you over the next few weeks..hopefully, we won’t have to take such a LONG break again from posting.  I have missed it.

One of the first things that our family starts asking for when the days turn cool and wet is Hot Cocoa. Some label reading of the available hot cocoa mixes on the market reveal mostly sugar, whey and a bunch of additives.  Yuck.  We have been making our own cocoa mix for ages and it tastes better, is more nutritious and, of course, less expensive. You probably have everything needed in your pantry.

HOT COCOA MIX

Recipe may be halved or even quartered if this would make too much for your family.

Whisk together in a large bowl:

15 cups instant dry milk

4 cups sugar

2 cups dutch process cocoa powder (use more or less to your taste)

1 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon (or more, if you like)

Process in small batches in your food processor.  This is an important step to have the mixture dissolve easily in hot water.  It breaks down the instant milk and thoroughly mixes in the other ingredients.  Use about 1/3 cup of mix for a mug of cocoa.

A missing ingredient from some recipes you see is non-dairy creamer.  I confess, I used to add it, but with all the bad news about trans fats…….I gave it up and just top the cocoa with whipped cream or add a bit of half and half to enrich it instead.  A nice compromise, don’t you think?

A cup of hot cocoa, anyone?

~A


4 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, Eating well, Tea time

4 responses to “Summer to Fall

  1. Cheri Scribner

    Alisa, this looks wonderful! I have tried several different times to find dry mixes like this one to make for my family, or to give as gifts. Nothing so far has worked out, so I am excited to try your recipe! Thanks for posting, I’ve missed seeing you on here…

  2. Rachel

    awwww! Just when I went and bought more “store bought” cocoa….oh well, I will try this recipe for next time. Glad to see your blog back in action 🙂

  3. JoAnne Weiss

    Beautiful picture….sorry that your photographer has been sick….hope you all stay well!

  4. April

    I’m making your chocolate chip/peanut butter/banana muffins this morning to go with Friday coffee at Homelink. They were so delicious when you made them, AND I have all the ingredients. : ) Thank you.

Leave a Reply

