American Diner Breakfast

I know it’s probably very unpolitical to do this post.  It is full of all manner of fats and calories but oh-so American.  One of my continous worries as a mother of teenage sons (I  have had teenage sons in my life for almost 20 years!) is they will not eat enough protein and fat for breakfast to do well in their studies.  This became especially concerning when they were no longer homeschooling but leaving for a whole long day at school.  If  you ask them, they will tell you BREAKFAST is terribly important to me–that they eat it I mean.  My husband and and I have a favorite diner that we have ceased to frequent because of the silly propensity of gaining weight when we do (ah-hem).  But I figure making the same things at home saves us a bundle of calories.   Not sure exactly why I feel that way, but I do just the same.  So here it goes–American Diner Breakfast~At Home.

Fried Potatoes

I like to boil my potatoes ahead of time.  I usually do a whole ten pound sack but you may do whatever makes sense for your family.  Bring several inches of water to a boil.  Meanwhile, scrub the number of potatoes you want to use.  Add a teaspoon of salt and the scrubbed potatoes to boiling water; cover; turn down heat to simmer and cook approximately 25 minutes or until potatoes are tender but not soft–a knife should go in but not break apart the potatoes.   I use Russets because they are the least expensive. Cool.  I usually refrigerate overnight.

To prepare–melt together equal parts vegetable oil and butter in non-stick skillet-a couple of tablespoons each for a 12 inch pan.

Chop potatoes (I chop until it looks like a pan full–maybe 6-7 medium potatoes) into small cubes and add to hot oil; turn down pan to medium low (4 on my stove) and cook for 20-30 minutes.  Stir as needed.  Salt and pepper before serving.

Diner Eggs

Crumble one pound sausage into 12 inch skillet.  Saute on medium heat until thoroughly crisp and no pink remains.

Break one dozen eggs into pan.

Break the yolks with your plastic spatula and slowly turn the eggs as they cook.

I prefer this method over the traditional scramble.  The eggs seem to retain more flavor.

When eggs are thoroughly cooked you can top them with a sprinkling of cheddar cheese–about 1/2 cup.


Serve immediately– with ketchup, if desired.

We actually like to have  a bit leftover for a quick snack.   Yum.

~A


3 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

3 responses to “American Diner Breakfast

  1. Rachel

    I want to make this asap! It looks like a good comfort breakfast and I’m in the need of that 🙂

  2. Pingback: Simple Granola « Graceful Table

  3. Pingback: Italian Sausage Kale Potato Soup « Graceful Table

Leave a Reply

