Muffins, anyone?

Browning bananas, an almost empty Costco size peanut butter jar, a cup of keifer………hum…..I ask the boys (we still have half of our six sons at home–all looking to eat at a moment’s notice) if they would like some muffins.   They just asked to add chocolate ( and icing, too, please) to the peanut butter and banana…..so on goes the computer and I am looking for the recipe that calls for my ‘need to use’ ingredients.  Not finding exactly what I want, I decide on a “good enough” recipe and plan to alter it to fit my needs.  Does anyone else worry about how to use browning bananas?  For a long time, I was making “milkshakes”–ice, bananas, milk, homemade cocoa mix–for a breakfast chocolate smoothie.  But somehow that fell out of favor, so banana bread and muffins have been my mainstay, lately.  But something different seemed appropriate tonight.

Banana Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Muffins

3 ripe bananas, smashed

3/4 cup dark brown sugar

2 eggs

1 cup chunky peanut butter

1 cup milk keifer or buttermilk

Mix thoroughly with whisk.

Combine the dry ingredients in a small bowl:

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

2 1/4 cup white whole wheat pastry flour

Blend in flour mixture gently with spatula.

No flour pockets should remain.   Stir in  1/2 cup chocolate chips.

Use a 1/2 cup measuring cup to fill a prepared muffin pan~each cup should be sprayed with a vegetable spray to avoid sticking.

Bake at 375 degrees for 16-20 minutes.  Makes 16 muffins.

Frosting is optional.

I hope you noticed there was no added fat–just the peanut butter.  These are a great breakfast~especially if you skipped the chocolate chips!

Yummy~ the surprising flavor result was a much milder peanut butter/ banana taste.  I liked them much better than either a banana or peanut butter muffin.

~A

1 Comment

Filed under Breads and such

One response to “Muffins, anyone?

  1. Jamie

    MMMM These look yummy!