Breakfast of Champions

New Year’s Day has come and gone and with it – I’m sure everyone is thinking of ways to torture themselves in an effort to meet their various resolutions. Yours truly is no different. For 2009 – I have set the lofty goal to complete a sprint-distance triathlon. With the help of a friend & co-worker (a Marine and veteran of several full length triathlons, not to mention numerous marathons and 22 years in the Marine corps) and a generous dose of willpower on my end – I started ‘boot camp’ this week with a goal of being in physical condition by August at the latest.

 

So what – you might ask – does this have to do with food, and breakfast, specifically? This morning – as a small repayment for the help and a reward for the 4.71 mile run we completed before 9 am – I cooked breakfast.  Mushroom spinach crustless quiche and baked doughnuts (from one of my favorite food blogs – 101 Cookbooks), hot (freshly ground) Tully’s coffee & fresh fruit.

First – the quiche. There are hundreds (thousands?) of quiche, crustless and traditional, on the vast cookbook that is the Internet. Back in California – I had the privilege of having a small backyard flock of hens so this was one of my favorite breakfasts – easy, uses lots of eggs, and usually was breakfast for 2-3 days (yay for leftovers). As a result, I no longer use a recipe, and just throw whatever happens to be in the fridge on that morning. Today – it turned out particularly tasty (and it’s sort of healthy – brain food!) so here it is:

 

Sarah’s Mushroom Spinach Quiche

 

Preheat oven to 375

 

·         2 links fresh mild Italian chicken sausage ( I bought this at my local publix – a little on the pricey side but very tasty and healthier then the pork equivalent)

·         1 yellow onion – diced

·         8 oz baby bella mushooms (also called crimini) – sliced

·         1 TB olive oil

 

Saute all together until the sausage is cooked through. Mushrooms & onions should be soft.

 

In a medium size mixing bowl – beat

·         6 eggs

After the eggs are lightly beaten, add: 

·         ½ cup sour cream (I use Horizon organics full fat sour cream)

·         1 tsp salt (preferably Real Salt or Celtic Sea Salt) – could be reduced to ½

·         ½ tsp freshly ground black pepper

·         4 oz shredded harvarti cheese 

 

After all ingredients are incorporated, add

·         4 cups roughly chopped spinach

 

Dump in the onion/mushroom mix. Pour into a pan – I used an 8×11 glass pan, but you could also use a 8×8 or a 9×9 pan for a thicker dish – just increase the cooking time slightly.

Bake in preheated oven for 35-45 minutes – until knife in center comes out clean(ish). If you let it set for 5-10 minutes after it comes out of the oven, your slices will be cleaner.

 

The doughnuts (here is the recipe) were a big hit – these will be on my ‘special occasion’ breakfast repertoire from now on. I prepared them up through the first rise last night – then pulled them out of the fridge on my way out to my torture, I mean run – and then I got back – they were ready to be baked and dipped. I also used 2 cups white whole wheat flour to 3 cups all purpose – we all know doughnuts aren’t supposed to be health food – but next time I will use more white whole wheat as it added a nice depth to the doughnuts. Everything else was exactly as is listed on the recipe – I did not have a doughnut cutter (even made a late night run to the local grocery, and even in the heart of deep fry country, no doughnut cutters made the shelves) – so I used a drinking glass and a narrow shot glass to cut out the middle – worked beautifully! I baked the doughnuts on one parchment line cookie sheet and the doughnut holes on another. The recipe didn’t mention the doughnut holes – but the butter/sugar amounts were plenty to cover both.

 

Good luck to everyone on your resolutions! I will update my progress throughout the next few months – my goals & resolutions tend to morph as time goes on – keeps things interesting.

 

~S

Leave a comment

Filed under Gluten Free, Grain Free, New Year's Resolutions

Leave a Reply

