Sourdough English Muffins

All this staying home has allowed me to work with my fledgling sourdough.  This is the first time in all my many attempts at honing a sourdough starter that I have sustained it and used it several times a week.   Sourdough is just one of my favorite breads but it is near the top.  I found this particular starter recipe in a children’s pioneer book….I happened to have what it required and it was a simple method, assuring success.  And successful it’s been.  One of my favorite ways to use it has been in making English muffins.  Easy.  Mix the starter with one cup of milk and two cups of flour in the evening.  In the morning, add soda, salt and a bit of sugar.  Roll out with a generous amount of flour.  Cut and let them rest for about  20-45 minutes.  Bake on a griddle or pan at medium heat for 6-8 minutes on each side.I am especially thrilled when I see the holes—then I know they will be thin and crispy.  Although they rise nicely on the one side, when you turn them over, they have another “spring”  or rise.  They are a bit rustic in appearance but that is part of their charm.

I’m not exactly sure why I love to make these so much–ease, taste or just all those wonderful holes for the butter to melt into, but Sourdough English Muffin will be on our Graceful Table for some time to come!

~A

1 Comment

Filed under Winter Storm 2008

One response to “Sourdough English Muffins

  1. Pingback: Sourdough Addendum « Graceful Table

Leave a Reply

